Newly Qualified Teachers

The Newly Qualified Teacher Programme for induction and mentoring will be coordinated by the regional consortia from September 2016.
All information regarding the programme in ERW will be available in this section of the website.

If there are any questions or points for clarification please contact: Tom Fanning Programme Coordinator


Reminder: Induction mentoring arrangements for newly qualified teachers in Wales are changing from September 2016.

Regional consortia and local authorities were informed by Welsh Government in June 2015 that from September 2016, the role of deploying external mentors to support newly qualified teachers through their induction would no longer be carried out by the Welsh Government.

The new arrangements will be managed by regional consortia. If you would like further information about the external mentor arrangements, please contact your consortium directly:

Csc LogoEas Logo

Contact: Jendy Hillier                              Contact: Mike Cameron


Gwe Logo                        erw logo purple

 Contact: Vicky Barlow                             Contact: Tom Fanning


Please note that the administrative arrangements for notifying the Education Workforce Council (EWC) of teachers commencing induction and accessing induction funding remain the same.

Visit for further information.






Local Authorites Swansea-Abertawe Neath Port Talbot - Castell Nedd Port-Talbot Ceredigion Carmarthenshire - Sir Gaerfyrddin Pembrokeshire-Sir Benfro Powys

ERW is an alliance of 6 local authorities governed by a legally constituted joint committee. Its aim is to implement the agreed regional strategy and business plan to support school improvement.