Teachers Awards

Teachers Awards

TEACHERS from ERW have won national awards which recognise the successful work carried out in our schools.

Mark Thompson of St Helen’s Primary School, Swansea, won the award for headteacher of the year.

Susan Treacey of Ysgol Dyffryn Taf, Whitland, won the award for in the category for supporting teachers and learners.

Bethan Baglow of Olchfa School, Swansea, won the award for school business manager/ bursar.

Hafod Primary School, Swansea and Ysgol Golwg y Cwm, Ystradgynlais were both runners up for the whole school award for promoting relationships with parents and the community.


Susan Quirk of Ysgol Glan y Mor, Burry Port was a runner up for the award for promoting collaboration in order to improve learning opportunities.

It is the first time the Professional Teaching Awards Cymru have been held to celebrate the commitment, dedication and inspiration of the teaching profession in Wales.

Pupils, parents and colleagues were able to nominate education professionals and schools for consideration for the awards, the winners were announced at a prestigious event in Cardiff City Hall on Sunday, May 7.

ERW managing director Betsan O’Connor said: “We are delighted with the success that education professionals and schools from the ERW region have had at the Teachers Awards. It demonstrates the quality of our teaching, our schools and educational staff.

“These awards celebrate their commitment to the profession and give the recognition they all deserve.

“On behalf of ERW I congratulate all winners and nominees.”

Local Authorites Swansea-Abertawe Neath Port Talbot - Castell Nedd Port-Talbot Ceredigion Carmarthenshire - Sir Gaerfyrddin Pembrokeshire-Sir Benfro Powys

ERW is an alliance of 6 local authorities governed by a legally constituted joint committee. Its aim is to implement the agreed regional strategy and business plan to support school improvement.